News - Videos - Blogs

$1.3 Million Overnight Stakes Program Announced

| Churchill Downs Communications | 03/11/2009 #

A schedule of 26 overnight stakes races worth an aggregate $1.3 million for the 2009 meet was announced Tuesday by Kevin Greely, Arlington Park Vice President of Racing and Racing Secretary. The overnight stakes slate kicks off on opening day with the Timeless Native Stakes at one mile over Arlington's Polytrack synthetic surface.

Each of Arlington's overnight stakes will be worth $50,000, the minimum purse requirement for a stakes race to carry black-type designation in 2009.

"Announcing the entire overnight stakes schedule prior to the start of the meet will allow horsemen, both local and regional, to plan their programs to use these stakes races for preps for races that are part of our $5 million major stakes schedule," Greely said.

Most of the overnight stakes will be raced four weeks prior to the race for which it serves as a prep while the rest will serve to bolster categories that may not have a counterpart upcoming major stakes race.

The complete overnight stakes schedule follows:

Day/Date Race Condition Distance Purse
Fri. May 1 Timeless Native Stakes 3yo & up 1 Mile $50,000
Sat., May 2 Double Delta Stakes 3yo, f 1 Mile (Turf) $50,000
Sat., May 9 Chester House Stakes 3yo & up 1 1/16 Miles (Turf) $50,000
Sat., May 16 Reluctant Guest Stakes 3yo & up, f&m 1 Mile (turf) $50,000
Sun., May 24 Zen Stakes 3yo & up IL 7 Furlongs $50,000
Sun., May 24 Your Ladyship Stakes 3yo & up, f&m IL 7 Furlongs $50,000
Sat., May 30 Fit for a Queen Stakes 3yo & up, f&m 6 1/2 furlongs $50,000
Sat., June 6 Nicole's Dream Stakes 3yo & up, f&m 5 Furlongs (Turf) $50,000
Sat., June 6 The Tin Man Stakes 3yo & up 1 1/8 Miles (Turf) $50,000
Sat., June 13 Possibly Perfect Stakes 3yo & up, f&m 1 1/8 Miles (Turf) $50,000
Sat., June 27 Polar Expedition Stakes 3yo & up 1 3/4 Miles $50,000
Sat., July 11 Pink Ribbon Stakes 3yo & up, f&m 5 Furlongs (Turf) $50,000
Sat., July 11 Diamond Stakes 3yo, f 1 1/16 Miles (turf) $50,000
Sat., July 25 Gaily Gaily Stakes 3yo & up, f&m 1 1/2 Miles (Turf) $50,000
Sat., August 1 Rossi Gold Stakes 3yo & up 1 1/2 Miles (Turf) $50,000
Sat., August 8 Hatoof Stakes 3yo, f 1 Mile (Turf) $50,000
Sat., August 8 Forward Pass Stakes 3yo 7 Furlongs $50,000
Sat., August 8 Cigar Stakes 3yo & up 1 Mile $50,000
Sat., August 8 Spectacular Bid Stakes 2yo 7 Furlongs $50,000
Sat., August 8 Top Flight Stakes 2yo, f 7 Furlongs $50,000
Sat., August 15 Lazer Show Stakes 3yo & up, f&m 5 Furlongs (Turf) $50,000
Sat., August 22 Taylor's Special Stakes 3yo & up 5 Furlongs (Turf) $50,000
Sat., August 29 John Henry Stakes 3yo & up 1 1/16 Miles (Turf) $50,000
Mon., September 7 Honor Glide Stakes 3yo 1 1/8 Miles (Turf) $50,000
Sat., September 12 Safely Kept Stakes 3yo & up, f&m 6 Furlongs $50,000
Sat., September 19 Claire Marine Stakes 3yo & up, f&m 1 1/2 Miles (Turf) $50,000