News - Videos - Blogs

Learn to Win Seminars Schedule for 2012 Meet

| Churchill Downs Communications | 05/08/2012 #

Arlington Park continues in its efforts to promote fan education with a series of 16 'Learn to Win' seminars to be held in the track's Park area during the 2012 season that gets underway Friday, May 4.

The seminars are hosted by Joe Kristufek of HorsePlayerNOW.com, founder of Night School (which is held Tuesday nights and sponsored in part by Arlington Park), Daily Herald handicapper, NBC Sports and America's Best Racing on-air talent for their Racing 101 segments; and by Brian W. Spencer, also from HorsePlayerNOW.com. These informal sessions will take place on selected weekend and holiday dates with the first such seminar schedule for Mother's Day Sunday, May 13 from 1 p.m. until 3:30 p.m.

Kristufek and Spencer will teach race goers the basics of reading the racing program as well as how to construct wagers that give them the best chance to be successful at the races. In addition, they will answer any questions that fans may have when it comes to handicapping races.

"Fan education is my passion," said Kristufek, who also serves as Arlington Park's official morning-line maker. "Arlington Park recognizes the importance of hands on tutelage and Brian and I very much enjoy providing the 'Learn to Win' experience for all levels of racing fans. Their appreciation is our reward."

The complete schedule of seminars (which will be held weather permitting) is as follows:

o Sunday, May 13: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
o Monday, May 28: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
o Friday, June 1: 4 to 6:30 p.m.
o Saturday, June 2: TBD*
o Friday, June 8: 4 to 6:30 p.m
o Sunday, June 17: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
o Saturday, June 23: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
o Wed., July 4: 4 to 6:30 p.m.
o Saturday, July 7: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
o Saturday, July 14: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
o Friday, July 20: 4 to 6:30 p.m.
o Friday, Aug. 10: 4 to 6:30 p.m.
o Saturday, August 18:
o Million Day Starting Gate Q&A Seminar: 11 am- 12 noon
o Monday, Sept. 3: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
o Saturday, Sept. 8: TBD*

*Held as part of Binny's Taste of the Track event

In addition, Kristufek will host three NIGHT SCHOOL BIG EVENT live online chats – Thursday, May 10 previewing the Arlington Park meet; Thursday, July 12 previewing Million Preview Day on July 14; and Thursday, August 16 previewing the August 18 Arlington Million/International Festival of Racing. All three chats will start at 7:30 p.m. CT will be accessible through the Arlington Park website at arlingtonpark.com as well as at the Horse Player NOW website at horseplayernow.com.

Also, as part of Churchill Downs Inc., Arlington Park is a title sponsor of the groundbreaking HorsePlayerNOW Night School series of chats. The interactive fan education forums focus on a unique racing topic each week, with industry experts utilized as hosts and panelists. The chats can be found each Tuesday night at 7:30 p.m. CT on arlingtonpark.com as well as on horseplayernow.com.